A Great White Horse

A great, white horse has passed from this life. Romeo, my beloved Lipizzan stallion, who had been the star of a hundred different demonstration clinics over the years, died last night of colic. I had him since he was a yearling when he was just a gangly, dusky charcoal grey colt. I trained him for several years on the ground and then for two more years under saddle. I taught him to bow and to lie down. I taught him tricks at liberty. Almost without noticing it, along the way a beautiful, shiny white soul, filled with power, intelligence, and nobility, emerged in front of my eyes. He was so gentle that most people never even realized he was a stud. He was a quick learner and a patient teacher. I probably learned more about my own limitations as a trainer from Romeo than from any other single horse. And in the end he always showed me how he could learn anything despite my own clumsiness, at times, as a trainer. I have never met a horse that could learn a task or lesson as fast as Romeo did. He learned everything in half the time that it took my other horses. He could blow the socks off of a judge riding dressage in one moment and the next moment be chasing cattle in a pasture, doing roll backs like a cutting horse. He might have been descended from the stallions of kings but he had a cowboy’s blue-collar work ethic. He was disciplined but knew how to cut loose and play as well.

Yesterday was a great day. I had taken him out for a ride. I hosed him down and he played around like a kid in the spray. In the afternoon, I had found a particularly sweet Honeycrisp apple in the fruit bowl in our kitchen. I took one bite of it and it was so sweet and delicious, I just had to share it with him. I walked out into his pasture and cut the apple into slices. He would get one, then I would get one. Every time it was his turn, I would feign running away with his slice. Then he would come jogging over, snorting and throwing his head back and forth as if to say: “Hey, it’s my turn. Not yours.” Six hours later he was gone.

I have owned a lot of horses but Romeo was the best of them. I ran my clinics and demos with him. He was the star of the show and like a business partner to me, earning his keep by wowing the spectators. When everyone went home, and we were by ourselves, he could act like a kid again and just nuzzle and play with me. He always took great care of me whenever I was on his back. He was a great white presence in everyone’s life at the ranch.

My hands tremble and my heart breaks this morning as I get ready to open the door on the porch that looks out on his stall. He will not be there today. I will not hear his nickering to greet me. There will be no toss of his great head and mane to let the rest of the stable know I am up. A great white light has gone out of my life. My beloved friend, Romeo, I will never forget you. There will not be a single day I don’t think of you. I will see you one day when I cross over and I know you will be waiting impatiently for me in heaven. When I come to get you, I’ll sneak a Honeycrisp in my pocket, my Sweet Stallion. God bless you for all the joy and wonder you brought into all our lives.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.